

## **ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT SCREENING COMMITTEE**

EISC Registry File: [05-19-01]

May 29<sup>th</sup>, 2019

Fred Behrens Hamlet of Aklavik P.O Box 88 Aklavik, NT X0E 0A0

Dear Mr. Behrens:

Project Title: Water License Renew Dec. 1, 2019

**Proponent: Hamlet of Aklavik** 

Thank you for submitting to the Environmental Impact Screening Committee (EISC) your completed Project Summary Questionnaire (PSQ) for the above-named project. The EISC mandate is derived from the Inuvialuit Final Agreement (IFA), section 11(36), which states that "no license or approval shall be issued that would have the effect of permitting any proposed development to proceed unless the provisions of IFA section 11(36) have been complied with". This compliance has the effect of requiring competent authorities to give notice of applications for licenses, permits, or other authorizations, to the EISC. All applications for proposed development / research purposes must therefore be reviewed by the EISC to determine if they are to be subject to an environmental impact screening.

The EISC has reviewed your PSQ and has determined that your project <u>does not meet the</u> <u>definition of development as defined under the Inuvialuit Final Agreement</u>, and therefore will not be subject to an Environmental Impact Screening (EIS).

If you have any questions regarding this decision, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 1(867)777-2828, Extension 1014.

Sincerely,

Michel Lindsay

EIS Coordinator, Environmental Impact Screening Committee

Cc. EISC Distribution List

**EISC Distribution List** 

Fred Behrens, SAO, Hamlet of Aklavik

Larry Carpenter, Chair, Wildlife Management Advisory Committee (NWT)

Jodie Maring, Wildlife Management Advisory Committee (NWT)

Lindsay Staples, Chair, Wildlife Management Advisory Committee (NS)

Kaitlin Wilson, Wildlife Management Advisory Committee (NS)

Alan Kennedy, Chair, Fisheries Joint Management Committee

Emily Way-Nee, Fisheries Joint Management Committee

Vernon Amos, Chair, Inuvialuit Game Council

Chanda Turner, Inuvialuit Game Council

John Donihee, Chair, Environmental Impact Review Board

Lenora McLeod, Coordinator, Environmental Impact Review Board

David Livingstone, Chair, Environmental Impact Screening Committee

Jennifer Lam, Committee Program Manager, Joint Secretariat

Chloe Brogan, Community-Based Monitoring Program, Joint Secretariat

Cassandra Elliott, TLK, Joint Secretariat

Kayla Hansen-Craik, MPA, Joint Secretariat

Paulatuk Hunters and Trappers Committee

Aklavik Hunters and Trappers Committee

Inuvik Hunters and Trappers Committee

Olokhaktomiut Hunters and Trappers Committee

Sachs Harbour Hunters and Trappers Committee

Tuktoyaktuk Hunters and Trappers Committee

Mardy Semmler, Executive Director, Inuvialuit Water Board

Bijaya Adhikari, Inuvialuit Water Board

Duane Smith, Chair, Inuvialuit Regional Corporation

Kate Darling, General Counsel, Inuvialuit Regional Corporation

Charles Klengenberg, Director of Lands, Inuvialuit Land Administration

Glenna Noksana, Inuvialuit Land Administration

Alec Sandra Macdonald, Regulatory Specialist, GLWB

Erika Tramm-Tizya, Transboundary Specialist, Gwich'in Lands and Resources

**GNWT Environmental Assessment and Monitoring** 

Nathen Richea Manager Water Regulatory, ENR, GNWT

Aurora Research Institute

Naomi Smethurst, Culture and Heritage, ECE, GNWT

Lorraine Seale, Department of Lands, GNWT

Dan Carmichael, Regional Superintendent, Department of Lands, GNWT

Marsha Branigan, Environment and Natural Resources, GNWT

Loretta Ransom, Environment and Natural Resources, GNWT

Patrick Clancy, Environment and Natural Resources, GNWT

Johnny Lennie, Manager Oil and Gas Planning, PR Division, GNWT

Ian Butters, Manager, Oil and Gas Rights, GNWT

Peter Clarkson, Regional Director, Department of the Executive, GNWT

Don Craik, Superintendent, ITI, GNWT

Lorie Fyfe, Regional Superintendent, Inuvik Region, MACA

Veronique D'Amours-Gauthier, DFO

Fisheries Protection Program, Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Beaufort Sea Partnership

Nelson Perry, Parks Canada Agency

Joe Costa, Resource Management Officer, Parks Canada

Eric Reed, Canadian Wildlife Service, ECCC

Marc LePointe, Environmental Assessment and Marine Program, ECCC

Denis Lacroix, Environmental Assessment and Marine Program, ECCC Mark Dahl, Senior Oceans Disposal Officer, Environment Canada

**EA North NWT** 

Christy Wickenheiser, National Energy Board

Anne-Marie Hesse, National Energy Board

Dinah Elliott, Environmental Specialist, CIRNAC

Sarah Robertson, Senior Project Officer, CANNOR

Georgina Williston, Senior Environmental Assessment Coordinator, EC

Sarah Chan, Manager of Environmental Affairs, Department of Environment, YTG

Mike Suitor, North Yukon Regional Biologist, Department of Environment, YTG

Stephanie Muckenheim, IFA Implementation and Projects Coordinator, YTG

Cameron Eckert, Special Projects Officer, YTG

Carrie Mierau, Yukon Parks Branch, YTG

Marc LePointe, Environment Canada

YESAB, Dawson Office

John Kaltenstein, Marine Program Manager, Friends of the Earth