## **ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT SCREENING COMMITTEE**

Submission Number: [02/12-10]

April 20, 2012

Randall Warren Manager, D/A/R Shell Canada Energy 400 - 4 Avenue SW PO Box 100, Station M Calgary, AB T2P 2H5

Dear Mr. Warren:

## **RE: Camp Farewell Water Licence Application**

Thank you for submitting to the Environmental Impact Screening Committee (EISC) your project summary for the above named project.

Under the Inuvialuit Final Agreement (IFA), section 11(36), "no licence or approval shall be issued that would have the effect of permitting any proposed development to proceed unless the provisions of [IFA section 11(36)] have been complied with". This requirement has the effect of requiring competent authorities to give notice of applications for licences, permits or other authorizations to the EISC. These applications for proposed developments must be reviewed by the EISC to determine if they are subject to environmental impact screening.

The EISC has determined that the Shell Canada Energy project titled "Camp Farewell Water Licence Application" met the definition of development and that it was exempt from the screening process, as it qualifies to be exempt under exclusion # 1 of Environmental Impact Screening Guidelines, Appendix C.

If there are any questions on the above decision, please contact the EISC Environmental Impact Screening Coordinator.

Sincerely,

## Original signed

Christine Inglangasuk
Environmental Impact Screening Coordinator
Distribution List

Amanda Joynt, Fisheries and Oceans Canada;

Bruce Hanbidge, Wildlife Management Advisory Council;

Conrad Baetz, Indian and Northern Affairs Canada;

Paulatuk Hunters and Trappers Committee;

Gavin More, Environment and Natural Resources;

Patrice Stuart, Inuvialuit Land Administration;

Nelson Perry, Parks Canada:

Tuktoyaktuk Hunters and Trappers Committee;

Aklavik Hunters and Trappers Committee;

Steve Baryluk, Inuvialuit Game Council;

Richard Binder, Joint Secretariat;

Marsha Branigan, Environment and Natural Resources;

Larry Carpenter, Wildlife Management Advisory Council;

Michelle Christensen, Wildlife Management Advisory Council;

Patrick Clancy, Environment and Natural Resources:

Mike Fournier, Environment Canada:

Vic Gillman, Fisheries Joint Management Committee;

Sachs Harbour Hunters and Trappers Committee;

Inuvik Hunters and Trappers Committee;

Robert Jenkins, Indian and Northern Affairs Canada;

Jennifer Lam, Inuvialuit Game Council;

Randy Lamb, Yukon Government;

Olokhatomiut Hunters and Trappers Committee;

James Malone, Fisheries Joint Management Committee;

Kayla Hansen-Craik, Fisheries Joint Management Committee;

James Hodson, Environment Canada;

Elizabeth Snider, Environmental Impact Review Board;

Norm Snow. Joint Secretariat:

Shawna Kaglik, Joint Secretariat;

Mike Harlow, NWT Water Board;

Christy Wickenheiser, National Energy Board:

Donald Arey, Indian and Northern Affairs Canada